Monday, January 31, 2005

Captain's List I

Ok, good news everyone! The Army FY05 Captains list is coming out 3 Feb 05 at 0730 EST. That's 9:30 PM Thursday night here. I'm so excited. I can't wait to see it. If everything goes as planned my name will be on it and I'll be promoted in November. This is great news for a few reasons.
1) I'll be getting promoted (duh) and that means more money. Also, if you are an LT and you don't get picked up for CPT it means that you probably either killed someone or got a DUI. You have to be pretty stupid not to get it.
2) I'll get my orders to Fort Lee VA and those orders will have a class date that lets me know when I'll be done in Fort Lee. This is valuable to me because it allows me to plan out when I'll be moving which helps Steve plan his move and everyones happy. The only thing I won't know is where I'm going after VA. I don't find that out til I'm about 2 months out from leaving Fort Lee. Ah well....can't have everything
3) I'll have a definite date that I can leave this shithole unit. Fantastic. I can't wait to get back to the states and my new Volvo. I rove my Vorvo.

Good news all around...I'll update on the results.

In other news, Steve is in Thailand for 13 more days...but who's counting? Me, that's who. I miss Steve a lot but I know he's having a fabulous time relaxing on the beach and taking lots of pictures. I wish I could be there but sometimes its good for everyone to take a break from everything and just be at peace. So I'm happy for Steve. But if he thinks about staying in Thailand for one more day his ass is grass. :)

Sunday, January 30, 2005

Drunken Debauchery

Holy shit was I drunk last night. I mean, I was DRUNK. I didn't know how bad it was til I started to fall over in the bar. Right off the couch. Don't think anyone saw that so I should be ok. I got home (somehow) and stumbled, quite literally, up the stairs to my apt and ate some crackers which was a good idea looking back on it. I eventually made it to bed (after some kneeling exercises in front of the great white ceramic basin) and woke up this morning feeling like a pile of assholes. I took a cool bath and ate more crackers with water. I've reached the point where I think Taco Bell is a good idea. That is the best hangover food ever created. That's my story and I'm sticking to it.
Steve I'm so so sorry I drunk emailed you. I think it must have made little to no sense and I know the spelling was off. Really sorry about that one...

Ok here's today's daily limerick...

Last night I got drunk off some Soju
I was only supposed to drink 1 or 2
It turned into 8
I'm not feeling so great
Today I'm drinking only water and juice

They get worse as we progress so if you read one in about a month they should be absolutely terrible. Hey, at least I warned you...

Saturday, January 29, 2005

Crack Pills and Olivia

Oh man. I took a caffeine pill (200mg, which is supposedly the same amount as a cup of coffee...must be the same as a venti double espresso) an hour ago. I thought it might help me at the library since I have this big research proposal due. Bad idea. It was too much I guess. I almost passed out at the library because my heart was going so fast and I don't think much oxygen was making it to my bean. I had to just check out some books and leave before I was "that girl" that passed out and had to be taken to the hospital where the doctors would make me feel about 2 inches tall for being stupid enough to take a caffeine pill on an empty stomach. Oh I forgot to mention that part, eh? Yeah haven't had anything to eat today except for some kimchi and a couple fish cakes. Not filling at all, specially since I've been up since 7:15. I might be the most common sense deficient person you know.

All that aside my day has been good. Took Steve to the airport this morning. That was sad, though I didn't cry. It's only two weeks for Pete's sake. I'll live.

Oh, I told Olivia that my next blog would be dedicated to her and here I am talking about my crack addiction.
Liv, I wrote a poem for you. A limerick if you will. Bear with me, I have no creative abilities to speak of...least of all rhyming.
There once was a girl named Olivia
She's never been to Bolivia (or maybe she has but just roll with it for the poem)
She's my favorite sister
Though Lesbia dissed her
I'll always love my Olivia

TaDa!!! That took forever and the result is less than spectacular but it's the thought that counts. Maybe I'll create my own limerick anthology and give it as gifts at Christmas next year. The majority of them would be about my cats (particularly when they're in heat because they provide an abundance of actions to make fun of), my own idiotic antics and idiotic Koreans. I'm onto something here...

One last note. I watched the Matrix for the first time today. Steve and I started it yesterday on his request because I've never seen it or had any interest in it. I thought it was stupid. Boy was I wrong. That is some good shit. I'm going to watch the second one now. I am not going to get a black trenchcoat and walk around with sunglasses on inside trying to crack computer codes. That would be dorky, and I'm anything but that :)

Friday, January 28, 2005

Work

Right, boredom ended tonight at around 10 PM when I was called and woken from a wonderful sleep (second time today...we had an alert this morning at 4:30 AM).
Anywho, we had a 100% recall back to work at 10 because of some missing stuff. I'm at work and it's 12:38.
I'm not bored anymore.

Thursday, January 27, 2005

Boredom II

Joey is in heat...AGAIN. This is ri-friggin-DICulous. This is the second time in January that she's been in heat. I keep getting excited thinking she's trying to be extra super cuddly (she's normally in my face anyway) and then I pet her and she meows and rolls over and shows me her belly. I think it's cute until it dawns on me. My cat doesn't love me any more than she used to. She wants a boy kitty to come over and put his little boy kitty hoo-ha in her little girl kitty hoo-ha and make little kitty babies with their own hoo-has.
I said no way woman. If you want any relief at all you best look over to your buddy Annie and get her to help you out.
You see, I'm trying to breed my two female cats to...ya know...anyway. The plan seemed to be working. Annie walked up to Joey, went to sniff her butt, got real close (at which point Steve and I got excited) and then Joey attacked. This completely throws my theory of Joey being the original kitty dyke out the window. Joey was sporting the spiked leather collar before we even got Annie. So now I'm all confused. I don't know who's gay and who's straight anymore. All I know is, I've got a horny cat and no way to calm her down except to shoot her with a tranquilizer dart. And since I'm fresh out, I guess I have to suffer with the obnoxious butt-in-the-air, ear rubbing and meowing that comes with a cat in heat.

In other news, I've had a few cans of coke, a cappucino and a peice of cake with more frosting than cake today. That's a lot of sugar. MMM...

Oh and for the last 4 day weekend we're having in Korea before I leave to go back to the States, I think Steve and I are going to go to Taipei, Taiwan together :) That is if my boss lets me go. If she does though, I'm really excited to go. That puts me in China three times in two years which officially beats out my Chinese friend in the States. Eva, something is wrong there and I think you should do something about it. :)

Let's recap...horny cats, check...sugar high, check...vacation with Steve, check...good.

Tuesday, January 25, 2005

Boredom

I hit a new level in boredom today. I've done a lot of nothing at work and I feel like I'm going to burst. This blog is my last effort to do something besides watch the paint peel off the walls (and in this decrepit building that is an avid hobby for many soldiers).
Unfortunately I'm so bored I can't think of anything to write. You can only write about nothing for so long. I think that time has arrived and so this is now one of the shortest blogs I've had the displeasure of writing.
Mom, if you're reading this call my boss at 736-7604. Make up an elaborate story that will require me to leave work immediately and head home.
Sionara...

Look At Me!!!


str8iron1
Originally uploaded by Ryssy.
I told you I did it...here is proof...I'm hot now :)

Monday, January 24, 2005

Update

Well, it's been so long since I've blogged I don't know what to say. Not much has happened and yet I feel like the last ten days have taken a full year to transpire. Where to begin...
I spent my last four day weekend here in Seoul. It was Martin Luther King Jr weekend and I had Fri-Mon off. Steve had Friday off too so we spent the next three and a half days together. It was wonderful as usual. We had the girls and even some boys over for pizza and a movie and lots of alcohol at mi casa and then moved it over to our local haunt in Itaewon where we partied late into the night (morning?). Anywho...good times there. Steve said he loved me over breakfast on Sunday while watching a football game. I believe the conversation went a little something like this:
Steve: I like (insert whatever Steve was eating for breakfast here)
Me: Really? Do you love it?
Steve: Not like I love you.
Ahhh, we're in love, how cute.
After my great four day I went to the field where I had to endure sub-freezing temperatures four straight days. It was so cold that at night and especially when we woke up in the morning the heaters in the tents couldn't warm the air up enough to make the tent bearable. It's very very difficult to get out of a warm sleeping back and into the cold morning air. Brrr...but we did it and I was back by Friday at 5 pm.
Steve came back again on Friday and we spent another two and a half days together. Luckily Steves birthday present came in this week as well as the rings. And my car loan. I own a Volvo :)
I gave Steve his birthday presents early because I couldn't' wait 'til Sunday. He got two books...one is a book about poetry and teaching and the other is a queer movie poster book. I thought he'd like both of them and they'll be entertaining at least. Saturday Steve straightened my hair with the flat iron and it was amazing. So amazing in fact that Sunday (his birthday) we went and I got it permanently done. I'll have a picture up later, but just know it's really great. I can run my fingers through my hair and sleep with my hair down and brush it when it's dry and wear it down without wanting to strangle myself with it. AND Steve thinks I'm even more hot than usual (which is hard to do but I'm just that good) :)
Steve got a dinner of stuffed peppers and tabouleh for dinner with a home made yellow cake with chocolate frosting and some decorations. We had balloons and I sang happy birthday in both English AND Arabic (for Sito). Steve made a wish, blew out the candles and we ate. Yum-my.
I have to say...out of the past few weeks, my favorite memories are the ones of me just sitting or laying on the couch with Steve. I hated going to bed at night because I didn't want to stop looking at him. I hated waking up even more because I didn't want to lose the physical closeness. As much as I didn't like it that stuff, I still loved spending every moment with him no matter what we did. I'm really thankful for what I have and I can't wait to see what happens in the end :)

Wednesday, January 12, 2005

The Ring


Ferris
Originally uploaded by Ryssy.
Is this not the hottest ring you've ever seen? I saw it and fell in love with it and now I'm going to have one :) Yay Steve!

Monday, January 10, 2005

Less Than Three

I've determined what it is to be in love. Sort of. Let me explain what I mean. Many blogs back, in fact I believe it was my second blog ever, I wrote about never finding love and never being in love and living the rest of my life as a bachelorette. These were all things I worried about and have continued to worry about up until about 72 hours ago.
I thought back on all my old relationships where I told my partner that I loved them. I don't think I actually was in love with any of them at all. I probably loved them, but not the same. I wondered if I'd ever have the "burning passions" of love and would I know it if I had it? I thought I'd never fall head over heels like in the movies because that was just too much for me to believe in. It seemed so corny and fake. But actually, it's really like that. Corny, head over heels love.
This is how I know.
For the first time, I was actually nervous and scared to say 'I love you'. This is new for me but I took it as a good sign. I finally got it out then cried about two minutes after. Not because I was upset or scared, but because I was so overwhelmed with emotion that it came out in tears. I teared up a few more times that day. It's like my heart is so happy that it just wants to burst. I've never felt so comfortable, safe, happy and nervous all at the same time. All I want is to keep making * smile...and somehow, I know that * is feeling all of these things too. I only hope that I can give * the hapiness and peace that * gives me...
<3

I've substituted the names and personal pronouns with the asterik for obvious reasons...

Tuesday, January 04, 2005

Killer Americans, Cock and Balls, and Carlton...My trip to Shanghai

What a title, eh? Thought I'd give you an update on my trip to Shanghai. For those of you who don't know where Shanghai is (shame on you), it's on the east-central coastline in China. Sean and I had a great time. I'll go over the highlights of the trip which are conveniently summarized in the title of this blog.
1) Killer Americans. We went shopping at this market which has every knock of you could imagine and way better than Korea. I got a North Face jacket w/fleece liner, a 3 day hiking pack by North Face, adidas shelltop sneakers and about 20 DVDs...all for about 75 bucks. As I'm talking to one of the slipper guys, he says to me...where you from from? I said America. He said (in Chinese accent) "oh you American" the proceeds to make his hands into a machine gun and say bang, bang, bang. Sean and I are like, nonononoo no shooting. Then he says "Bush", so we say no. No. This guy thinks all Americans love Bush and are trained killers. That's a great reputation to have. Not.

2) Cock and Balls. The Shanghai tower, aka the Oriental Pearl Tower or something like that, is this huge monstrosity of a tower with a ball at the top. Restaurant and sight seeing at the top but we didn't go. We were on the other side of the river bank. So Sean and I walk up the steps to the Bund which is a walkway along the river. As we're walking up the steps the entire tower comes into view. And what's at the bottom of the already phallic symbol? That's right, two huge globes with the world painted on it. I looked at it, then looked at Seany and said, Sean, that's a cock and balls. He's like, yeah, that's a cock and balls alright. And we took some pics and then smoked a cigarette while staring at the huge cock and balls. Amazing, way to go Shanghai. Compensating for something?

3) Carlton, the best little jazz and blues singer in Shanghai. We went to the house of Jazz and Blues on the offchance that it was a nice bar to have wine at. Turns out it was, and it had a live band. Who happened to be from the states, and they rocked the house. Carlton had the best stage presence of any performer I've seen in a local venue than that. Snoop Dogg and Dre have him beat for the large crowds, but Carlton is still the man. So was Eduardo who improv played the guitar. Eduardo is from Brazil and was vacationing with his Chinese wife. Eduardo cannot dance, but he can play a mean guitar solo. Frank was also good, he's a local expat and played the harmonica with the band when Carlton asked him to play. Frank you also rock.

That was my trip, I'll be posting pictures from my trip to Shanghizzle as soon as I get off my lazy ass and download them onto the computer.