Monday, June 06, 2005

New blog

yeah so if you're reading this blog and thinking i'm going to update anytime soon you're smoking crack. go to my aim profile (raynbo66) and look at the new link. i'm not giving it out because you never know what kind of haters are reading this. oh if you don't have aim just email me at wonderwoman1280@hotmail.com and i'll tell you what it is. later bizzles!

Sunday, May 01, 2005

Blog...or not

I could blog or not blog forever, and still find things...to not blog about.

Sooooorrrryyyyy. I've been busy uprooting myself to go home for a two week vaca and then a move to Virginia. It's been stressful, fun and sad all at once.

Yes, everybody, I CRIED like a bitch when I left Steve. Yes, I miss him. and Yes, this really sucks. But guess what, it's ok because I heart Steve so much that the time will fly and we'll be back together soon. Enough about the depressing stuff, ok?

Good news...my cats like my house at home. And my house likes my cats. My mother calls herself grandma when she's around them. I think that's a little hint that I need to go ahead and reproduce already. Let me get right on that...

Other good news, my Volvo is the sweetest ride ever. It's even cooler than Pedro's cousins car.

My family is good. Sito cooked chicken and hushwe and it was sooo great. I've seen my friends, and I'm ready to move on to Virginia. I need to go back to having my own apartment where I can decorate and organize as I please. I'm excited to get there and get done with my class so I can move again, hopefully for the next to last time. I'm ready to live with Steve and have a home, not just a house. It always seems to be cleaner with Steve around :) The food is better too.

Alrighty, I'll blog again soon. Miss you all in Korea so so much!!!

Thursday, April 07, 2005

Food

Dear Subway,
When you make my sandwich, please refrain from putting the entire head of lettuce on the roll. Also, you could be less stingy with cheese and bacon.
Love,
Alyssa

Am I the only one who feels this way?

Monday, April 04, 2005

Pissed Off

I'm angry. So angry that I have to calm myself down and fight back tears. I'm mad because I'm at work today. I have 19 days until I leave Korea for good and I'm at work. I know that 19 days seems like a lot of time and in terms of getting myself moved out and outprocessed, it is. But I'm contributing NOTHING to the office. I'm not working on any projects because I'm supposed to stop working on Friday. I have done all my reports and there's nothing left for me. Not only do I have to stay at work, but the whole company is supposed to be here for 4 days straight, no going home. I asked my commander if I could go home at night because I want to be with Steve as much as possible and she says "I'll think about it."
I'm angry because I busted my butt for her and this unit for 2 years and now I just want to be cut some slack and all I can get is "I'll think about it." I'm so mad I need to just take a breather, relax and do something to get my mind off work. Sorry for the venting...

Thursday, March 31, 2005

McLunch

So I just ate McLunch with my commander. We have McLunch about once or twice a month where we drive to McDonalds and the car gets put in McParking and we McEat. We've tried to see how many stupid words we can add the prefix Mc- to. You'd be surprised what a laugh it can get. Anyway, I ate a lot and now I'm feeling chunky monkey.

I got my iPod on Friday and it's seriously the best thing ever to happen to me. I'm looking for one for Steve. No luck yet but still trying. Hopefully we can find one this weekend at Techno Mart.

The current countdown as of today is 23 days left. Almost just three weeks.

I haven't been good with the Limericks lately so here's a short poem that i wrote just now. it's really good but please don't publish it without my consent :)

mcdonalds apple pie
you burned my tongue today
i cannot taste my nuggets

Monday, March 28, 2005

Honey, I'm Hooooome

Alright, alright I get it. Write more blogs, yeah yeah yeah. I realized it'd been since the 3rd of March since I blogged last and that's a long time. I'm sitting in my office at 6 am and I'm trying to figure out what the hell to write. It's been so long and I still have no idea what to talk about.
Well, I spent the last two weeks in Daegu, Korea, away from Steve. I didn't have "fun" persay, but I did work a lot and so the time went by pretty fast. I got home Friday and had a great weekend with the Stevenater and other friends.
Oh wait, now I remember. I DID do something super cool this weekend. I pierced my nipples. Ooh mom if you're reading this I'm just kidding and no this will not affect breastfeeding. But everyone else, no I really did and it was the most painful thing I've ever had done to my body. Steve tells me it's because I have small boobs and that they're more sensative than, say, a girl with a D or DD. Either way I wanted to cry, but didn't. I had them done with barbells and they're hot. I can even sleep on my stomach already and they don't hurt, except when I have to clean them. Enough about my nips...except to say that if anyone wants to see them I'm all about flashing. ;)
Hard to believe the only thing worth blogging about in three weeks is the state of my nips. Wait, no, that's pretty believeable.
:)

Thursday, March 03, 2005

Bad Blogger

Sorry, it's been a while. I've been in the field and it was a big event so the prep work took up some time too. I'm back now, and have about a week and a half to relax before I go to Taegu for some more Army stuff for two weeks. Taegu is about 4 hours south of Seoul and it's a pretty big city. It's also in the middle of nowhere but I'm going to take advantage of being in a new place and hit up the hiking and temples. It's also close to Pusan, the large city on the coast. Hopefully I can go there too. After those two weeks, it's back to Seoul for about a month and then it's back to the States I go.
The closer I get to going home, the sadder it becomes. For obvious reasons (Steve and friends), but also because this has become my home. I am comfortable here. I finally feel like a part of the city and not like a tourist. I don't look at Koreans and their customs as weird (ok some are still odd...), I accept many of them as my own.
That said, I'm still excited to go home. I've missed my family a lot and I know they miss me. I really miss the fact that I've missed two years of my brother and sister's lives at a time when they're becoming adults. I'd hoped I'd be around to help them grow and learn, but unfortunately I was here. I'm glad to get back and be there for both of them and to see my parents. My grandmother is also not doing so well and so I'd like to get home and see her. As much as it pains me to say it, I think she's on her last legs. People say that when your spouse dies, it's not uncommon for the widow or widower to pass within a few years. My grandmother is just really depressed about the passing of my grandfather, but she doesn't show it. I think it's really taking a toll on her and she doens't even know it.
For those reasons, it's time to go home. My career is also calling. I've left my mark here, made improvements and helped where I could. There comes a time when I can't give anymore and I've hit that point. Virginia will be fun and I'm sure I'll learn a lot. Can't say that being back in the states during baseball season isn't also a positive factor. :) Go Sox!!!
So, all in all, it's time to go and move forward. It'll be good in the end because it marks the end of a chapter in my life, but begins a new chapter where I hope to be with Steve in as close to a real family environment as possible. Korea is good for us, but I'm ready to move forward with the relationship, and moving back home will facilitate that much easier than if I stayed here.
To everyone in Korea, the times have been fantastic. I couldn't have asked for a better two year tour. I hope you'll keep in touch because I know I'll miss you all very much.
Girls in the states: I'm coming home and we're going OUT. I can't wait to see you all, specially my lil sissy Renny. :)
Til next time...

Monday, February 14, 2005

V-Day 20005

It went off without a hitch. AND I got one of the best presents EVER! Steve gave me a 90 minute full body massage. MMMMMmmmmmmmm. And the card was amazing. Can't wait to go home and read it all over again. And again. And again...you get the point.
Also, Steve brought me back so much stuff from Thailand. First off, I got about 25 stems of orchids that are so beautiful that I can't stop staring at them. I got a dark brown wood vase with light brown engravings to hold them in. Awesome vase. I got a white linen shirt with embroidery (that I've always wanted), strawberry body cream, two sets of candle holders. I can't explain the candle holders, but they're great. They're the same color as the vase and each set has three half moons that all fit into each other. Does that make sense? I also got henna paste so that I can tattoo the shit out of myself. "tattoo". Not permanent, which means I can put just about anything on my body and not have to worry.
It's 6:17 AM now and I'm about to go to sleep on my couch because I'm exhausted, and a lazy bitch. G'night...

Thursday, February 10, 2005

Marching...

So today I decided to do training with my soldiers (as any good LT should but usually doesn't). Today we were going to go on a little ruck march and then stop and teach some classes then walk back. Not too bad I thought.
I thought wrong.
As we're walking our 1SG decided he wants to nix the classes and just do a road march. Mind you we have from 7 am to noon for training. Believe me when I say we used all five hours. We stopped twice for about 10 to 15 minutes each which was probably the worst thing to do. I was good for the whole way out which is about 11 kilometers. Good except about 7 kms in I could feel a quarter sized chunk of skin on my right heel just peel right off. So then I have raw skin rubbing against a boot for the rest of the march...no biggie, I can walk through 'a' blister.
The 11 kms back was a different story. I realized at about 2 kms into our hike back that I had multiple blisters. Still ok though, I'm a trooper so no complaining. Gotta keep the pace.
4 kms out I'm really feeling it. I'm computing in my head about how far I've walked and how long I've got til I get back. And at the 2km point that was it. I was dragging my feet and limping my way back. I didn't stop though, even ran a little to keep myself motivated. I made it back about halfway through the company and so I felt good. I was so happy for it to be over.
The aftereffects: I walk like I'm either a) pregnant, b) a person with a pole shoved up their ass, or c) both. It's so painful but I'm still happy that I did it.
In total it was 12 miles in sub-freezing temps with a biting wind that numbed my face, ears, and wrists so that I could feel none of them, though I knew they were moving.
No complaints here, just laughing at myself for walking like an idiot...:)

Wednesday, February 09, 2005

Captains List II

So I made it! I'm sequence number 1655. 1654 people ahead of me. But over 3000 behind me. So that's ok with me. They promote a lot every month so I'm thinking about November-ish.
I also got the thumbs up for going to VA for sure. I start class on 12 June but I am going to get there in the beginning of April. I think I'm going to take under 2 weeks of leave at home and just get going there.
After that who knows, but let's hope Seattle eh?

I don't think much else is going on. Steve comes back Saturday night at 7:50 instead of Sunday morning at 7:50. Thank God for two reasons. One, I don't want to get up at 6:30 to make it on time. Two, I can't wait another 12 hours to see him. 2 days and a wake up. Can't wait! Gotta clean the apt and get it ready for VDay.

No limericks for you all today. I really can't think of anything to do a limerick about because it's pretty slow right now.